آموزش زبان انگلیسی

آموزش زبان انگلیسی ,آموزش گرامر انگلیسی , مکالمه انگلیسی, اصطلاح , لغت , تست , سرگرمی , ضرب المثل, شعر , داستان , نکته ها ی مهم , و اخبار جالب..

آموزش زبان انگلیسی

آموزش زبان انگلیسی ,آموزش گرامر انگلیسی , مکالمه انگلیسی, اصطلاح , لغت , تست , سرگرمی , ضرب المثل, شعر , داستان , نکته ها ی مهم , و اخبار جالب..

Verb + ing

Verb + ing

 

 

Stop        enjoy       dislike         admit       consider      miss

Finish      mind       imagine       deny        involve        postpone

Delay       suggest    regret         avoid       practice       risk

 

 

If these verbs are followed by another verb, the structure is usually verb + -ing:

 

 Stop talking!

 I’ll do the shopping when I’ve finished cleaning the apartment.

 I don’t miss working late every night.

 Have you ever considered going to live in another country?

 I can’t imagine George riding a motorcycle.

 When I’m on vacation, I enjoy not having to get up early.

 

The following expressions also take -ing:

 

Give up (=stop)                      keep or keep on (= do something

 go on (= continue)                continuously or repeatedly)

put off ( = postpone)                                           

                                          

  Are you going to give up smoking?

  He kept (on) interrupting me while I was speaking

 

Note the passive form (being done / being seen / being told, etc.):

I don’t mind being told what to do.

 

You can not normally use the infinitive (to do/to dance, etc.) after these verbs and expressions:

 

I enjoy dancing. (Not to dance)

Would you mind closing the door? (Not to close)

Jill suggested going to the movies. (Not to go)

 

 

When you are talking about finished actions, you can also say having done/having stolen, etc.

But it is not necessary to use this form. You can also use the simple -ing form for finished actions:

 

He admitted stealing (or having stolen) the money.

They now regret getting (or having gotten) married.

 

With some of the verbs in this unit (especially admit, deny, regret, and suggest) you can also use a (the) … structure:

 

 

He denied that he had stolen the money. (Or denied stealing)

Jill suggested that we go to the movies. (Or suggested going)

 

 

 

قابل توجه زبان آموزان ساکن در تبریز

( معرفی آموزشگاه زبان انگلیسی برای کودکان و بزرگسالان ):

اگر به هر دلیل نیاز به کلاسهای حضوری دارید " آموزشگاه زبان انگلیسی امروز" بهترین گزینه خواهد بود.

-          متد آموزشی جدید با اساتید کاملا مجرب

-          بیشتر اساتید این آموزشگاه از اساتید " کانون زبان ایران" انتخاب شده اند.

-          استفاده از متدهای جدید آموزشی و نکات روانشناختی از خصوصیات ویژه این آموزشگاه است.

درنتیجه آموزش با صرف زمان و هزینه کمتر و با بهترین کیفیت

آدرس: خیابان طالقانی- خیابان ارک جدید- اول کوی یوشاری- پلاک 99 -   تلفن: 5546862 – 55466863

و اما ادمه درس:


Reported speech (2)

 

It is not always necessary to change the verb when you use reported speech. If you are reporting something and you feel that it is still true, you do not need to change the tense of the verb:

 

Direct        Tom said, “New York is bigger than London.”

 Reported   Tom said (that) New York is (or was) bigger than London.

 Direct        Ann said, “I want to go to Turkey next year.”

 Reported   Ann said (that) she wants (or wanted) to go to Turkey next year.

 

 

Notice that it is also correct to change the verb into the past.

But you must use a past tense when there is a difference between what was said and what is really true. Study this example situation:

 

You met Ann. She said, “Jim is sick.” (Direct speech)

Later that day you see Jim playing tennis and looking fine. You say:

“I’m surprised to see you playing tennis, Jim. Ann said that you were sick.”

(Not that you are sick, because he isn’t sick)

 

Must, might, could, would, should, and ought  stay the same in reported speech. May in

Direct speech normally changes to might in reported speech.

 

Say and tell

 

If you say who you are talking to, use tell:

 

• Tom told me (that) he didn’t like Brian. (Not Tom said me...) Otherwise use say:

• Tom said (that) he didn’t like Brian. (Not Tom told (that) he.  ...) also: you can’t say “Tom told about his trip to Mexico.” You have to say:

• Tom told us (or me/them/Ann, etc.) about his trip to Mexico. If you don’t say who he told, you have to say:

• Tom talked (or spoke) about his trip to Mexico. (But not said about)

 

We also use the infinitive (to do/to stay, etc.) in reported speech, especially with tell and

Ask (for orders and requests):

 

Stay in bed for a few days,” the doctor said to me.

The doctor told me to stay in bed for a few days.

 

 Don’t shout,” I said to Jim.

I told Jim not to shout.

 

“Please don’t tell anyone what happened,” she said to me.

 Ann asked me not to tell anyone what (had) happened.

 

 Can you open the door for me, Tom?” Ann asked.

 Ann asked Tom to open the door for her.

 

Said is also possible with the

• The doctor said to stay in bed for a few days. (But not said me)



 

Reported speech (1)

 

Study this example situation:

 

You want to tell someone else what Tom said.

 

There are two ways of doing this:

You can repeat Tom’s words (direct speech)

Tom said, “I’m feeling sick.”

 

Or you can use reported speech:

Tom said (that) he was feeling sick.

 

Compare the two sentences:

Direct  Tom said, “I am feeling sick.”

Reported         Tom said (that) he was feeling sick.

 

When we use reported speech, we are usually talking about the past. So verbs usually change to the past in reported speech. For example:

 

Am/is —* was                   have/has —* had                           can —* could

Are — were                    will —+ would          do/want/know —* did/wanted/knew, etc.

 

 

Study these examples you met Tom Here are some things he said to you:

My parents are very well.

I am going to quite my job.

Ann has bought a new car.

I can’t come to the party on Friday.

I want to go on vacation but I don’t know where to go.

I’m going away for a few days. I’ll call you when I get back.

 

Now you tell someone else what Tom said (in reported speech):

 

• Tom said (that) his parents were very well.

• Tom said (that) he was going to quit his job.

• Tom said (that) Ann had bought a new car.

• Tom said (that) he couldn’t come to the party on Friday.

• Tom said (that) he wanted to go on vacation, but he didn’t know where to go.

• Tom said (that) he was going, away for a few days and would call me when got back.

 

The simple past (I did) can usually stay the same in reported speech, or you can change it to the past perfect (I had done): did — did or had done

 

Direct     Tom said “I woke up feeling sick and so I stayed in bed.”

Reported     Tom said (that) he woke (or had woken) up feeling sick and so he stayed ( in bed.

 

 

Prefer and would rather

Prefer and would rather

 

 

A) Prefer to do and prefer doing

You can use “Prefer to do” or “prefer doing “to say what you prefer in general.

 

I don’t like cities. I prefer to live (or I prefer living) in the country.

 

I prefer tea to coffee.

 

Tom prefer to travel rather than by train.

 

I prefer to live in the country rather than (live) in a city.


 

Use would prefer to say what want someone wants (to do) in a particular situation. You can say would prefer to (do) or would prefer (do) ing:

 

Would you prefer tea or coffee?

 

I‘d prefer to go by car.  Or I‘d prefer going by car.

 

 

B) After “would rather” we use the base form:

 

Would you rather have tea or coffee?

 

I am tired. I‘d rather not to go out this evening, if you don’t mind.


 

I‘d rather stay at home than go to the movies.

 

 

C) Would rather someone did something

When you want someone else to do something, I’d rather you did…/ I’d rather he did…, etc. We use the past in this structure but the meaning is present or future, not past. Compare:

 

“Shall I stay here?” “Well, I’d rather you come with us.”

 

I’d rather you didn’t tell anyone what I said.

 

“Do you mind if I smoke?” “I’d rather you didn’t.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

Have something done


این مثال را بخوانید:

Study this example situation:

 

The roof of bill’s  house was damaged in a storm, so he arranged for a worker to repair it. Yesterday the came and did the job.

 

Bill had the roof repaired yesterday

 

این یعنی اینکه آن پسر خودش سقف خانه را تعمیر نکرده است.بلکه از شخص دیگری برای این کار در خواست کرده است. پس کس دیگری سقف را تعمیر کرده است.

This means: Bill didn’t repair the roof himself. He arranged someone else to do it for him.

 

Compare: Bill repaired the roof. (= he did it himself)

               Bill had the roof repaired. (= he arranged for someone else to do it.)

 

Now study these sentences:

 

Did Peggy design her business cards herself or did she have them designed?

 

Get something done is possible instead of have something done.

I think you should get your hair cut. ( = have your hair cut)

 

 

have something done sometimes has a different meaning. For example:

 

he had all his money stolen while he was on vacation.

 

This doesn’t mean that he arranged for somebody to steal his money.! It means that: “ all his money was stolen.”

With this meaning, we use have something done to say that something happened to someone: Jack had his nose broken in a fight.(= his nose was broken.)